Learn more!

Stephanie Louise Bender

I am a respnsible, mature, ethical woman. Currently, I make a living as a tutor, as well as a freelance researcher, writer, editor, proofreader, and fact-checker. As such, I have the flexibility to schedule my time as needed. I have worked in a variety of professions, all of which have been serving others. To me, that is just as, if not, more important than what I earn.

Profile Summary:
Tutor Oklahoma City, OK
Freelance Writer/Editor/Proofreader Oklahoma City, OK
Daycare/Babysitting/Respite Care Oklahoma City, OK
More About Me
teaching, writing, reading, watching engaging programs, traveling, the arts, swimming, spending time with friends
Work Experience:
I will provide my resume upon request.
Organizations / Affilations:
Stephanie Louise Bender is located in Oklahoma City, OK and has the following skills: Tutor, Freelance Writer/Editor/Proofreader, Daycare/Babysitting/Respite Care
Writing / Journalism, Childcare, Education
Similar Skillwho Members
My Skills


Category: Education
I have tutored many people in my life. If you would like to come to my home, or meet at the business center (located in my complex), for lessons in just about any area, please contact me.
Relevant Education / Credentials
I have worked as a tutor since I was in junior high school (and that was quite a while ago). Back then, I used to help the teach cover the classroom. Students had questions, and he could not get to all of them quickly enough; so, he enlisted the help of me and another student. Thus began my tutoring experience. Over the last twenty-five years, I have worked in the fields of early intervention. Five of those seven of those years, I worked in a classroom for children either diagnosed or believed to have autism. For that same agency, I also worked as a job coach, placing and training people with disabilities for positions within the public sector. I worked in our sheltered workshop as a supervisor for those who were not yet equipped to work with the general public, for one reason or another. I also worked as a repite care provider for the agency, as well as for a private agency in the community where I grew up. I also volunteered for the local rescue squad, and became a licensed Emerigency Medical Technician. When I moved to Oklahoma, I worked in a couple of daycare centers. In addition, for approximately 5 years, I substitiuted for one of the area school districts while I retured to college to pursue baccalaureate degrees in special education and history. I also completed the required hours to earn a minor in hunanities. One of my college mathematics professors stated that, when he retired, if he could have hand-picked his successor, I would have been his choice. This was very flattering, considering that I did not major in his area. He said that was not the reason behind it. He said that he watched me when we did presentations in class. He realized that I could find unique and interesting ways to teach anyone even the most complicated concepts. Due to an overgrowth of a bone in the area near the eardrum, my father was deaf for the first five years of my life; so, I learned how to sign as, if not, before, I learned to talk.
Years Experience: 25

Freelance Writer/Editor/Proofreader

Category: Writing / Journalism
I enjoy writing just about anything. I have written articles, a book, essays, and book reviews. I have compiled portfolios, written technical and business documents, as well as developed proposals, pamphlets, and business cards. If you want something written, you need look no further.

I also possess other writing skills. I am working on my own novel while editing and proofreading several for friends. In fact, my childhood friend, Joanne (Findlay) Durann) just had her first novel, "Between Shadows," published.

I am a talented researcher and fact-checker, as well.
Relevant Education / Credentials
narticles on the scientific website, UniverseToday, posted some of my own original work on HubPages. One of my book reviews has been published on Amazon. A book I edited, "Between Shadows," by Joanne Durann, is now available.
Years Experience: 10

Daycare/Babysitting/Respite Care

Category: Childcare
I am always willing to watch children. Unlike many, however, I am even willing to watch during hours that are non-traditional. If you need to work second or third shift, and have no one reliable to watch your child, I would be more than happy to help.

Since I do my writing and tutoring jobs from home, I am almost always available to assist. I have a nive little media area set up, where books can be read, televsion or videos can be viewed, and naps can be taken. You would need to bring toys. I cannot possibly have every toy for every age.
Relevant Education / Credentials
I started watching children when I was in my early teens. I volunteered and worked as an Emergency Medical Technician for almost ten years, so I know what to do in life-and-death situations. With my experiences working with children and adults with special needs, as well as majoring in special education, I also have an understanding of development and what the person needs.
Years Experience: 25