Email
Password
Learn more!
Bio
I am a high school teacher at a private school. I spend most of my free time hiking, working out, or playing my guitar. I have written an Algebra I book , and I am in the process of writing a workbook to go with it that will include problems related to the SAT. I have a large family and extended family and do everything from hike to travel to attend concerts with them. It is not unusual for a group of us to travel to Chicago to see Buddy Guy play in his own night club called Legends. In the summer of 1983, I bicycled from Portland, Oregon to Portland, Maine. I was a first Lt. in the Army National Guard 133rd Engineers.

Profile Summary:
Teacher/Tutor Portland, ME
Hiking Portland, ME
Fitness Enthusiast Portland, ME
Guitarist/Song Writer Portland, ME
More About Me
I play guitar, hike, fish, work out often, snow shoe, cross country ski, play racquetball, bike, and swim. I think nothing of loading up my gear and spending a night or two on some trail in the White Mountains. I plan on hiking the AT four years from now when my son is out of high school. I will do it solo or with someone who can do it at a pretty good pace. (3 to 3.5 months). Also play paintball.
Work Experience:
I have worked since I was 13. I worked on the waterfront full and part time until into my twenties. I worked at Unionmutual (before it was UNUM). I have worked installing zinc annodes in the hull of a sugar tanker in Galvaston. I have a degree in math and a masters in teaching. I have worked with a carpenter, and electrician, and in a paint store. I have raised two children. I tutor and teach SAT prep. I was an officer in the Maine Army National Guard for 6 years.
Education:
B.A. in mathematics. M.A. in education.
Organizations / Affilations:
Jeffrey M is located in Portland, ME and has the following skills: Teacher/Tutor, Hiking, Fitness Enthusiast, Guitarist/Song Writer
Music, Non-Profit / Volunteering, Education, Outdoors, Health / Fitness
Similar Skillwho Members
My Skills

Teacher/Tutor

Category: Education
Description
Can Teach/Tutor K-12 mathematics. Have taught SAT prep privately with good results. Have taught Tech Prep (hands on ) math through AP Calculus. Can do a lot more than just help someone do their homework. Very skilled at summarizing and organizing concepts so they do not seem overwhelming.
Relevant Education / Credentials
Have taught high school math (basic, Geometry, Algebra I and II, PreCalculus, AP Calculus) for 16 years. Degree in Math and Teaching. Have coached and been a platoon leader. Many workshops.
Years Experience: 16

Hiking

Category: Outdoors
Description
Avid hiker. Do everything from day trips to several nights to backpacking for 8 days each year in Baxter State Park. Have good equipment to hike in summer, fall, or winter. Some fishing, but still learning. Plan on doing the AT four years from now.
Relevant Education / Credentials
Self Taught. Online information and sharing with other hikers. Plan on joining an outdoor organization.
Years Experience: 15

Fitness Enthusiast

Category: Health / Fitness
Description
Have been working out or playing sports for over 35 years. Constantly searching for a better workout. No more two hour gym workouts. Get 10-15 hours a week in by cross training and combining with activities such as snow shoeing, cross country skiing, hiking, biking, running, swimming, basketball, racquetball, etc. Do intense 40-50 minute core workouts 4 to 5 times a week with kettle bells, medicine balls,pull ups, push ups, and some dumb bells, mixing in sprints, suicides, stairs, 100's, 200's, 400's, 800's, and mile repeats. Nothing longer than four miles (or rarely). No heavy weight lifting. Everything is combined aerobic and anaerobic with maximum repetitions. Make up different routines to keep it interesting and everything is timed to maximize workouts in least amount of time but also cutting down wear and tear on major joints from long workouts and long runs. Also use heavy bag, speed bag, and jump rope.
Relevant Education / Credentials
always looking for best way to warm-up (dynamic stretching works for me) and recover (static stretching and diet). from internet,friends, coaches, and fitness trainers. Am in better shape now at 46 than when I was 36.
Years Experience: 30

Guitarist/Song Writer

Category: Music
Description
Play guitar recreationally. Play acoustic and electric with some effects. Large range of interest in types of music. Have written many songs. Most i've discarded, but some I've kept. Believe in quality and taste rather than quantity, speed, and showing off(probably because I started late and will never play 128th notes or fingerpick in Memphis). Not highly skilled (theoretically), but can learn most things with practice. Neil Young to Zepplin to Buddy Guy to Aerosmith to Eva Cassidy. If I like it, I'll play it. Presently trying to put together a duet thing with my sister who has an amazing voice. Practice time is hard to find. We are lose and will invite some others in the family (they can do everything from sing to play drums, guitar, keys, and bass). Sister has put out a Jazz/Blues type CD. We are thinking about a family Christmas CD. There's enough talent and creativity in the family to do a nice job.
Relevant Education / Credentials
Took a few lessons many years ago and a couple of theory courses in college. Mostly just playing with others and learning by listening and the internet. Sister has produced a pretty good CD (Patty Morris And Dukkha's Nemesis.
Years Experience: 20