Learn more!
check out my website:

I studied mathematics as an undergraduate at the University of Maryland in college park and graduated in 2007. I was simultaneously working on my master degree in Secondary Education. I was awarded my M.Ed. just this summer of 2008.
I hope to make a career out of tutoring because I love working one-on-one with people to help them overcome their fears of the maths and sciences. I believe that if you can see math as an interwoven set of tools instead of a disjoint collection of formulas and rules they can appreciate its beauty and usefulness.
I like to answer students' common question "Why do I have to learn this? I'm never going to use it in real life!" with this question: "Does someone working out in the gym ever ask why he or she has to lift a barbell? They know they will never have to lift a barbell in real life." The reason is that we know that we use the muscles we build in the gym to accomplish all sorts of tasks that are very different from lifting barbells but our strength will still help us to complete. In the same way, learning difficult mathematical concepts builds "brain muscles" that allow us to solve all manner of problems, even though they may be very unlike math.

Profile Summary:
Math Tutor Bowie, MD
More About Me
Adventure-seeking, white-water rafting, rock climbing, hiking, sky diving, computer building, video gaming, socializing, making new friends
Work Experience:
One-Year Teacher Intern:
August 2007 to June 2008 in the Prince George’s County Public School System

Professional Tutor:
August 2004 to August 2007 for Mrs. Dowd’s Teaching Service in College Park

Private Tutor:
2002 to present. Self-employed. Experience tutoring students from Kindergarten to Calculus I
M.Ed. in Secondary Education, July 2008
B.S. in Mathematics, May 2007
Both degrees from The University of Maryland, College Park
Organizations / Affilations:
Jordan Patterson is located in Bowie, MD and has the following skills: Math Tutor
Similar Skillwho Members
My Skills

Math Tutor

Category: Education
check out my website:

I have experience tutoring students in the 1st through 12th grades. I can tutor Algebra, Pre-Calculus, Calculus I, Linear Algebra, Geometry, Introductory Statistics, and Probability
Relevant Education / Credentials
M.Ed. in Secondary Education, July 2008 B.S. in Mathematics, May 2007 Extensive tutoring experience and some classroom teaching experience (see Resume)
Years Experience: 6